The Arboretum at Penn State

Design Committee

In 2004, an Arboretum Design Guidelines Task Force was appointed by the Arboretum director to extract the design principles embodied in the Preliminary Master Plan for the Penn State Arboretum by Sasaki Associates, Inc. (January 1999) and the Master Plan for the Mitchell Tract in The Arboretum at Penn State by Marshall·Tyler·Rausch, LLC (April 2002), and to create design guidelines based on those principles. The resulting document, Design Principles and Guidelines April 18, 2005, was officially approved by the University on April 18, 2005.

The Arboretum Design Committee, formed in 2005 and comprised of both University faculty and senior staff appointed by the director, works with the Arboretum director and the Office of Physical Plant in developing the Arboretum. One of their most important tasks is to provide advice on project proposals that fall outside existing plans.

  • Erin Coe, Director
    Palmer Museum of Art
  • Derek Kalp, Landscape Architect
    Office of Physical Plant
  • Greg Kufner, University Architect
    Office of Physical Plant
  • Eliza Pennypacker, Professor
    Department of Architecture
  • Casey Sclar, Director
    The Arboretum at Penn State
  • Steve Watson, Director
    Campus Planning and Design